Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur return to India squad for ODI series vs South Africa

first_imgIndia have included fast bowlers Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur in the ODI squad for the series against South Africa starting February 1.Shami and Thakur are the new additions in the 17-member team which recently beat Sri Lanka in the three-match ODI series earlier this month.Shami last played in the 50-over format for India in the ODI series against Australia in September this year. Shardul played two matches in the ODI series in Sri Lanka in August-September.Washington Sundar and Siddharth Kaul have been left out of the team.Vice-captain Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane will be the three openers for the team.Batsmen Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey and Dinesh Karthik retained their places, however, young KL Rahul, who has performed well in the ongoing T20I series against Sri Lanka, has not been picked.Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav, who had missed the ODI and T20I series against Sri Lanka due to a hamstring injury in early December, has also been picked.India has played 28 ODIs against South Africa in South Africa, won five and lost 21.India will play a series of three Tests, six ODIs and three T20Is against South Africa starting with the longest format from January 5.The All India Senior Selection Committee met in Mumbai to select the Indian team for the 6-match ODI series against South Africa #TeamIndia BCCI (@BCCI) December 23, 2017The Indian squad will fly to South Africa from Mumbai on December 27 after attending captain Virat Kohli’s wedding reception with Bollywood superstar Anushka Sharma on December 26.advertisementKohli will return to lead the side after his break from cricket, with the Test series being his first assignment after marriage.India also clinched the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka after winning the second match by 88 runs in Indore on Friday.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *